Cheezencrackers

  • Categories

  • Twitter Feed

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

2007 Stanley Cup Playoffs

Posted by Jen on Friday, 8 June, 2007

So. Anaheim wins the Stanley Cup. I’m disappointed. I wanted Ottawa to win. (Yeah, I know. Me, a Leafs fan, wanted Ottawa to win the Cup.) But I wanted them to win so the Cup can come back to Canada.

I know so many people have been telling me that the Ducks have more Canadian players on their team than the Sens, but that does not make Anaheim a Canadian team. I also know many people – mostly Leaf fans – who were cheering for Anaheim because they joined the ‘anyone but Ottawa’ club.

These are the same people who cheered for the Edmonton Oilers last year and the Calgary Flames in 2004 in the Cup finals because they wanted to bring the Cup back to Canada. The Ottawa Senators make it to the finals, and suddenly Canada doesn’t need the Cup back.

They make it sound like if Ottawa wins, the world will implode on itself. But really, they just don’t want to take the backlash of Sens fans bragging that their team won the Cup before the Leafs did. Already I’ve read of Leaf fans attempting to come up with snarky replies to that. “At least our team didn’t LOSE the Cup!” is the best I’ve read.

But Sens fans have the right to brag that their team made it to the finals. Their team actually worked to get there. If they had won the Cup, then they have further rights to bragging. How often does your team win the Cup? Sure it would be a thorn in the side for Leafs fans, but our time will come.

Toronto Maple Leafs, Stanley Cup Champions 2008, my friends. (Hey, I can hope.)

Sorry for the rambling. I am quite tired right now.

So I leave you with Hockey Night in Canada’s 2007 Stanley Cup Playoffs montage:

PS – Congratulations to Anaheim, anyway. The Ducks were the best team for most of the Finals.

Leave a Reply

 
